Page 1 of 1
Export of AP report has coding error
Posted: Thu Jan 15, 2009 10:14 am
by Lisa Barr
I tried to download a year long payable report and when I exported it into excel I got a bunch of trash in one of the columns.

I'm sure it is a coding error and could easily be fixed.

I went to Payables -----Payable List------Begin Date 2008-01-01----End Date 2008-12-31----show----ALL

When the report appeared, I exported it to Excel using the Excel icon at the bottom of the page.

Everthing else is fine, but in the PAID column you get the following

');" onmouseout="return nd();">$120.50
($120.50 is the correct amount I paid, but it comes with the trash in front of it)

I also have a question about this report.

On one of my vendors, we had to do journal entries to correct a problem. But since the information ran through the General Ledger, it makes this report "Look Wrong"

It shows the following:
Company x INC
Inv Date 9/16/08
Due Date 10/16/08
Inv # SPLC-05
Inv Amt 1677.33
Disc 0
Int 0
Amt Pd (Date: 2008-09-25 Number: 30637 Amount: $1,677.33) (This is also part of the error mentioned above)
Amt Due -1677.33

This is fine, but in the totals at the bottom of the report, it show $0 in Amount Due with no other entries offsetting instead of showing a credit of $1677.33

I'm assuming it is because of the Journal Entry. but this report would be more helpful if it showed why the credit went away.

Re: Export of AP report has coding error
Posted: Fri Jan 16, 2009 8:53 am
by admin
If exporting a smaller report does the info appear OK? I ran tests here -- perhaps not as much data as you have -- and they exported just fine.

As for the payable, perhaps rather than a journal entry, you should have created a payment for the credit as an "other" type of payment. That way it would show on your vendor.

Re: Export of AP report has coding error
Posted: Fri Jan 16, 2009 10:50 am
by Lisa Barr
"As for the payable, perhaps rather than a journal entry, you should have created a payment for the credit as an "other" type of payment. That way it would show on your vendor."

I agree. We didn't do it in the proper manner. But my point remains. We need a report where we can see EVERYTHING that happens to the vendor.

"If exporting a smaller report does the info appear OK? I ran tests here -- perhaps not as much data as you have -- and they exported just fine."

I did it for just 1 company and had the same results.
I did it in Internet Explorer for all companies from 1-1-08 top 12-31-08 and had the same problem
I did it in Internet Explorer for 1 company from 6-1-08 to 12-31-08 and had the same problem.

I copied the data manually by highlighting it then I pasted it into Excel with the same results
and pasted it into Open Office Calc ver 3 and got the same results

What system are you running?

I have Win 2K service pack 4
Firefox 3.0.5
Microsoft Office - Excel 97

Fatal: Not able to open ./cache/data_global.php